fe-brutal-ary

011312

It’s coldy cold today and heading even colder (-18) tonight. The ducks are bedded down, but one lady duck who had frozen feet is in the shower recuperating, I hope she can regain her strength, but regardless I didn’t want to just leave her out in the subzero temps. It is brutal out there and I am amazed that any animal can handle this weather. I watch the crows, little nuthatches and sparrows, wild turkeys and chickadees moving about in our Wisconsin Arctic time with awe and wonder.

After an extremely stressful last week when we had BOTH the USDA and a building inspector show up unannounced, my trip to BC to attend my Uncle’s wedding can’t come soon enough. I cannot wait to see my family, it has been over 7 years. I’m feeling pretty stressed, defeated and up against the big guys. I don’t think stress kills you, but it might contribute to an early death if it is not handled well. How to manage and deal with this kind of stress? Please tell me.

Because of last weeks uninvited and unexpected “visitors,” Andrew had to reschedule his vacation time until after I return, so I also haven’t had the uninterrupted writing time as I’d hoped. I really want to get my book manuscript done this winter. We have to continue to roll with the punches, and that’s what’s hard, it has been punch after punch after punch, for 5 years now. Living is hard, being an adult is hard, and farming is a hard profession to succeed in when you have so many monkeys on your back. I’ve been trying my best to roll with the punches, and of course there is all kinds of wonderful in between, so I will continue to focus on that. Spring is right around the corner, it really is. Even if we get snow storms in May, spring will come.

Despite the horrible last week, I AM making progress on my book project which feels fantastic. I also just posted this recipe on our farm website. If you want a really awesome recipe for Cuban Pork Chops, check this out. http://ltdfarm.com/?p=4486

13 thoughts on “fe-brutal-ary

  1. Oh, good luck to you guys. . Sad to hear they make farming so hard as if it is not hard enough. I had not seen my family for 7 years as well, you must be really excited. At least cold weather is a good book writing weather. 🙂

  2. Life is hard, being an adult is hard. Yup. I hear ya. I’m way older ‘n you and I still resent my adulthood sometimes. You’d think I’d be over it by now.

    Stress – yes, long term stress can do you some harm. You’re young, fit and healthy, which is a huge advantage. This isn’t really helpful advice, but true – sleep. Get regular sleep. I know, right? Like when? I dunno. But it helps. Meditate. Get some sun. See? I told you – not helpful. You’ll get through it. And the winter will go, and there will be calmer days. Maybe that could be a mantra…

  3. Hang in there. You’re a hero! I hope that somehow helps you to keep going. You’re brave to take the plunge and do what more of us need to do. I know I can’t stay in California forever. I love it here but it’s just too damn expensive and I’ll never have my goats unless I leave this area. And if I leave, I may as well go back to Canada and be close to my family. My sister has a beautiful farm up there now. And yet I stay like a frog in the pot…Enjoy beautiful BC. Are you from there?

    Remember, this too shall pass.

    1. Thank you so very much. I will hang in there for sure, thanks for the support, it means so much to me. My Mom was from Canada, and I have citizenship, but have not yet lived there. Whereabouts is your sister in Canada?

  4. Now is a the time to convince yourself you are truly happy. You have a farm. The friggin USDA knows you exist AND took the time to pay you a visit. Good news, the pest population is freezing to death in your fields! Think about planting things those nasty cutworms usually decimate. Being an adult is great, you can legally have a beer. Anyway, hope you (and your duck) have a better week or so. Our thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

